CS 0120

Kristin
2 min readDec 17, 2020

--

(blog for 12/16/2020) Today, the main focus was Twinemy…such an evil little thing. I wanted to use the lives variable in the player script to make the rock instantion (it’s projectile) appear to be heat seeking, but I kept getting this error.

I also worked on debugging Twinemy’s movement to no avail… My new plan is to scrap Math.F pingpong even though I really wanted to use it- it’s just taking up more time than I’m ok with right now. I did fix a bug that was causing Twinemy to explode sporadically- I discovered that I needed to write extra code to tell it only get damaged when hitting the player or a player laser, which I did by creating a new tag for the enemy lasers. At first the player lasers tag changed too (I’m not sure why?) and thought that maybe it was because they were all associated prefabs/duplicates, but after resetting both the player lasers and the enemy lasers the tags stuck the second time.

Twinemy has been so problematic and I feel like I’m falling behind dealing with one character, that I’m going to take a break from it tomorrow, just so I can have more progress in my game.

The game is definitely reinforcing that you have to code all behaviors- you can’t assume anything. I really wish I could get that ping pong to work. I reached out for help and I’m still not understanding why it’s not working. In my mind, the logic is simple, but it’s not translating to program in the way I expected at all.

Positive Affirmation: Coding C# and Unity come easily and effortlessly to me, that I can understand it quickly, teach it to anyone and create anything I want. I think of new, fun, creative, expressive, unique ideas easily and am inspired by the universe. Coding is fun, relaxing and extremely enjoyable for me.

Stay well friends,

Kristin

--

--

Kristin

Astrologer turned Software Developer who is aiming for the stars to land on the moon. Kristin the Developer is the Celestial Sleuth.